Mae'r ddogfen yma ar gael yn Gymraeg

## Agenda Item 8

Report to	North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority Annual Meeting	
Date	17/06/2019	VALOAA CAN
Lead Officer	Clerk	TAULTY
Contact Officer	Colin Everett (01745 535286)	WEWWORPINEDER N- GELWAIST
Subject	Membership of the Fire and Rescue Authority	

### **PURPOSE OF REPORT**

1 To note the membership of North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority (the Authority) until 2022.

### **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

- 2 Following local government elections in May 2017, the constituent authorities were invited to submit their appointments to serve as representatives on the Authority for the full five year term until the next local government elections in 2022.
- 3 In 2018/19 one change was received to the representation from Gwynedd Council.

### RECOMMENDATION

4 That Members note the membership of the Authority until 2022.

### BACKGROUND

5 The Authority was established as part of the reorganisation of local government on 1 April 1996. It comprises 28 councillors from the six unitary authorities of North Wales: Anglesey County Council (3); Conwy County Borough Council (5); Denbighshire County Council (4); Flintshire County Council (6); Gwynedd Council (5); and Wrexham County Borough Council (5). The number of representatives from each constituent authority is determined on a population basis.

# INFORMATION

6 During 2018/19 there was one change to Gwynedd Council's representation, and membership of the Authority is now as follows:

Flintshire (6 members) Councillor Marion Bateman (Independent) Councillor Ian Dunbar (Labour) Councillor Veronica Gay (Independent Alliance) Councillor Paul Shotton (Labour) Councillor Owen Thomas (Conservative) Councillor David Wisinger (Labour)

#### Gwynedd (5 members)

Councillor Simon Glyn (Plaid Cymru) Councillor John Brynmor Hughes (Independent) Councillor I Dilwyn Lloyd (Independent) Councillor Gareth A Roberts (Plaid Cymru) Councillor Glyn Gethin Williams (Plaid Cymru)

#### Wrexham (5 members)

Councillor Bryan Apsley (Labour) Councillor Michael Dixon (Independent) Councillor Geoff Lowe (Independent) Councillor Rondo Roberts (Independent) Councillor J Rodney Skelland (Conservative)

#### Anglesey (3 members)

Councillor Richard Griffiths (Independent) Councillor Eric Wyn Jones (Independent) Councillor Dylan Rees (Plaid Cymru)

#### **Denbighshire** (4 members)

Councillor Brian Blakeley (Labour) Councillor Ann Davies (Conservative) Councillor Meirick Lloyd Davies (Plaid Cymru) Councillor Peter Evans (Independent)

#### Conwy (5 members)

Councillor Peter Lewis (Conwy First Independent Group) Councillor Susan Louise Lloyd-Williams (Plaid Cymru) Councillor Roger Parry (Conservative) Councillor Nigel Smith (Independent) Councillor Adrian Tansley (Labour)

#### IMPLICATIONS

Wellbeing Objectives	Not considered relevant	
Budget	Attendance costs will be met from the existing allocated budget	
Legal	Members are expected to abide by their code of conduct at all times	
Staffing	Not considered relevant	
Equalities/Human Rights/Welsh Language	All aspects considered as a matter of course	
Risks	Not considered relevant	