# Agenda Item 9

## Mae'r ddogfen yma ar gael yn Gymraeg

Report to North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority

**Annual Meeting** 

Date 17/06/2019

Lead Officer Clerk

Contact Officer Colin Everett (01745 535286)

Subject Appointments to Committees and External

**Bodies** 



## **PURPOSE OF REPORT**

The purpose of this report is to invite the Authority to appoint members to internal and various external committees including the Local Government Association (LGA) and the Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA).

#### **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

- Each year, at its annual meeting, the Authority appoints 14 of its Members (two from each constituent authority plus the Chair and the Deputy Chair of the Authority) to its Executive Panel, and the remaining 14 Members to its Audit Committee. The Authority may decide to apply political balance to the membership of these committees, but in the past has decided not to do so.
- The Authority is required to establish a Standards Committee. The membership of this committee includes two Members of the Authority who cannot be office holders on the Authority. This committee is not required to be politically balanced.
- The Authority is required to establish a Local Pension Board. The membership of this board includes three Members of the Authority to fulfil the role of employer representatives. The term of appointment for the membership of this board was amended in September 2018 to fall in line with local government elections.
- 5 Members are also appointed to represent the Authority on external committees.

## **RECOMMENDATIONS**

- 6 The Authority is recommended to:
  - (i) consider whether to apply the principle of political balance to the membership of the Executive Panel and Audit Committee;
  - (ii) make/confirm appointments to the Executive Panel and Audit Committee, Standards Committee and Local Pensions Board, as set out in the report; and

(iii) appoint/confirm representatives to outside bodies as listed in paragraph 11.

### **BACKGROUND**

- 7 The Authority has a series of committees to which appointments are made or confirmed at its first or annual meeting. These are set out below.
- The Authority in the past has decided not to apply political balance to the membership of its Committees under regulation 20 of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990. This issue was revisited during the constitutional review in mid 2008-09. There has been a prevailing consensus that political balance would not be beneficial as the current arrangements are both inclusive and avoid creating any 'political division' in the governance of an Authority.
- The Authority's Standards Committee was established in accordance with the requirements of the Local Government Act 2000. Its duties include the consideration of complaints against Authority members, and advising the Authority on issues to do with standards.
- The Authority's Local Pension Board was established in accordance with the Public Service Pensions Act 2013. This board is responsible for ensuring that good standards of governance are achieved and maintained in the implementation and application of the Firefighters' Pension Schemes.
- 11 The Authority is also represented on the following:

Chairs and Chiefs Ministerial Fire and Rescue Liaison Group	Usually the Chair
Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA) Council	Usually the Chair
WLGA Co-ordinating Committee	One representative on behalf of the three FRAs
WLGA Fire Services Panel	The Chair and Deputy Chair
Local Government Association (LGA)	Usually the Chair
LGA Fire Services Forum	One representative on behalf of the three FRAs
National Issues Committee	The Chair and Deputy Chair

### **INFORMATION**

- 12 Appointments are to be made to the following committees:-
  - Executive Panel (14 members)
  - Audit Committee (14 members)
  - Standards Committee (2 members) (not required to be politically balanced under the Standards Committee (Wales) Regulations 2001)
  - Local Pension Board (3 members).
- 13 Terms of reference of the Authority's committees are included in its Constitution.
- Given that the constituent authorities are required to apply the principle of political balance to their committees (other than in the case of cabinets), authorities are encouraged to nominate members to this Authority on the basis of political balance. The Authority itself should consider annually whether it wishes to apply political balance, noting the comments in paragraph 5 above. Should the Authority apply this principle, appointments to committees should be made which ensure that the constituent authorities all have sufficient representation.
- The membership of the Executive Panel consists of 14 Members and comprises the Chair and Deputy Chair of the Authority and two Members per constituent authority. This membership represents 50% of the Authority's membership. The role and membership of the Panel was expanded in the constitutional review in 2008-09.
- The Authority agreed to introduce an Audit Committee to review, scrutinise and assure independently of the Executive the operational and financial performance of the organisation. The membership of the Committee is the remaining 50% of the membership who are not appointed to the Executive Panel.

## **IMPLICATIONS**

Wellbeing Objectives	Considered not relevant
Budget	Attendance costs will be met from existing allocated budget
Legal	Meetings are held in accordance with the agreed terms of reference.  Members are expected to abide by their code of conduct at all times
Staffing	Considered not relevant
Equalities/Human Rights/Welsh Language	Considered not relevant
Risks	Considered not relevant

Appendix 1

MEMBER	CONSTITUENT AUTHORITY	
EXECUTIVE PANEL - up until 17/06/2019		
Meirick Lloyd Davies (Chair)	Denbighshire County Council	
Peter Lewis (Deputy Chair)	Conwy County Borough Council	
Richard Griffiths	Anglesey County Council	
Eric Wyn Jones	Anglesey County Council	
Michael Dixon	Wrexham County Borough Council	
Rondo Roberts	Wrexham County Borough Council	
Marion Bateman	Flintshire County Council	
Veronica Gay	Flintshire County Council	
Roger Parry	Conwy County Borough Council	
Adrian Tansley	Conwy County Borough Council	
Ann Davies	Denbighshire County Council	
Brian Blakeley	Denbighshire County Council	
John Brynmor Hughes	Gwynedd Council	
Gethin Williams	Gwynedd Council	
AUDIT COMMITTEE - up until 17/06/2019		
J Rodney Skelland (Chair)	Wrexham County Borough Council	
Bryan Apsley (Deputy Chair)	Wrexham County Borough Council	
Geoff Lowe	Wrexham County Borough Council	
Ian Dunbar	Flintshire County Council	
Paul Shotton	Flintshire County Council	
Owen Thomas	Flintshire County Council	
David Wisinger	Flintshire County Council	
Sue Lloyd-Williams	Conwy County Borough Council	
Nigel Smith	Conwy County Borough Council	
Dylan Rees	Anglesey County Council	
Peter Evans	Denbighshire County Council	
Dilwyn Lloyd	Gwynedd Council	
Gareth A Roberts	Gwynedd Council	
Simon Glyn	Gwynedd Council	
STANDARDS COMMITTEE - up until the next elections in 2022		
Dylan Rees	Anglesey County Council	
Owen Thomas	Flintshire County Council	
LOCAL PENSIONS BOARD – up until the next elections in 2022		
Bryan Apsley	Wrexham County Borough Council	
John Brynmor Hughes	Gwynedd Council	
Rodney Skelland	Wrexham County Borough Council	

The Planning Working Group has the same membership as the Executive Panel plus the Chair and Deputy Chair of the Audit Committee, as agreed by the Authority at its meeting of 17 December 2018.